$25,000 in Scholarships Awarded to South Dakota High School Students

The South Dakota Farmers Union (SDFU) Foundation, in cooperation with Farmers Union Insurance, have announced the recipients of the fifth annual “Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow” scholarships. Twenty-five high school seniors from across South Dakota will share $25,000 in scholarships to be used to further their education at a South Dakota post-secondary school. Over the past five years, the Foundation has awarded $125,000 in scholarships to students attending South Dakota post-secondary schools. “It's an incredible investment in the future of our state," said Foundation Executive Director Leslie Rupiper Morrow. "We had a great group of young people apply for this year’s scholarships, and we couldn't be more excited that these students will be staying right here in South Dakota to further their education.” Each of the 25 scholarship recipients will receive $1,000 to put toward their post-secondary education at a South Dakota college, university or technical school. The recipients were chosen from among a large pool of applicants. They were scored based on a combination of academic record, activities and awards, financial need, and an essay relating to how they will, “Insure a Brighter Tomorrow,” in South Dakota. Farmers Union Insurance agents throughout the state fund this scholarship program administered by the Farmers Union Foundation. “Every year it gets more difficult to choose from the great students who apply," said Wayne Bartscher, Regional Manager of Farmers Union Insurance Agency. “It's a way that our insurance agents can give back and invest in the future leaders of our state. Based on this year's recipients, I'm confident that the future of South Dakota is bright.”     Tanna Becker     Tanna Becker - Pierre - T.F. Riggs High School     Breanna Cuka     Breanna Cuka -Wagner - Wagner High School     Nicole Ellis     Nicole Ellis - Watertown - Watertown High School     Adam Fendrich     Adam Fendrich - Salem - McCook Central High School     Laken Frericks     Laken Frericks - Northville - Northwestern Area High School     Jenna Frink     Jenna Frink - Beresford - Beresford High School     Kelli Garry     Kelli Garry - Lake Preston - Lake Preston High School     Ali Haines     Ali Haines - White Lake - White Lake High School     Michelle Holbeck     Michelle Holbeck, Armour - Armour High School     Danielle Knox     Danielle Knox - Highmore - Highmore High School     Jordan Lamb     Jordan Lamb - Onida - Sully Buttes High School     Allison Landmark     Allison Landmark - Britton - Britton-Hecla High School     Kelli Mammenga     Kelli Mammenga - Webster - Webster Area High School     Emily Meyer     Emily Meyer - White - Deubrook High School     Tanner Odegaard     Tanner Odegaard - Brookings - Brookings High School     Mahalia Olson     Mahalia Olson - Kimball - Kimball High School     Lacey Quail     Lacey Quail - White - Deubrook High School     Tristen Simons     Tristen Simons - White Owl - Faith High School     Taylor Steiger     Taylor Steiger - Kimball - Kimball High School     Tyler Swan     Tyler Swan - Newell - Newell High School     Mariah Taylor     Mariah Taylor - Northville - Northwestern Area High School         Katherine Van Gerpen - Pierre - T.F. Riggs High School     Alexa Volesky     Alexa Volesky - Webster - Webster Area High School     Kenton Welbig     Kenton Welbig - Dell Rapids - Tri-Valley High School     Jacquelyn Wilson     Jacquelyn Wilson - Lemmon - Lemmon High School